Pioneering Founders, Experienced Leadership and World-class Advisors

Dr. Lu has served as our CEO since he co-founded Senti Bio in 2016. Since 2010, Dr. Lu has been an MIT faculty member in the departments of Biological Engineering and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. In addition, Dr. Lu has been a co-founder and a Scientific Advisory Board member to a number of biotechnology and biopharmaceutical companies, including BiomX, Corvium, Eligo Bioscience, Engine Biosciences, Synlogic and Tango Therapeutics.

Dr. Lu earned his M.D. from Harvard Medical School and his Ph.D. in Electrical and Biomedical Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology as part of the Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology Medical Engineering and Medical Physics Program. Dr. Lu has extensive experience in the field of synthetic biology and has received numerous awards: NIH New Innovator Award, US President Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, MIT Technology Review’s TR35, Navy and Army Young Investigator Prizes and others.

Dr. Cooperstone has served as a member of our board of directors since 2019. Dr. Cooperstone has held various leadership positions at Pfizer including as Senior Vice President since 2017, Chief Development Officer for Rare Disease in Global Product Development since 2016 and Head of Development for Rare Disease in Global Product Development from 2015 to 2016. Dr. Cooperstone started her career in the pharmaceutical industry at Wyeth Pharmaceuticals in 1999 and joined Pfizer in 2009.

Dr. Cooperstone earned her M.D. from McGill University, and completed her residency in pediatrics at the Montreal Children’s Hospital, her clinical fellowship in pediatric nephrology at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and a research fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania’s Renal Electrolyte division.

Dr. Farokhzad is a physician-scientist, serial entrepreneur, company founder, company builder, executive and director – across multiple companies and technology platforms. He founded Seer, Inc. (Nasdaq: SEER) in 2017, which advances a transformative proteomics platform, and serves as Founder, CEO and Chair. He previously co-founded BIND Therapeutics (acquired by Pfizer), Selecta Biosciences, Inc. (Nasdaq: SELB), which is developing a novel antigen-specific tolerance platform for biologics and gene therapy, and Tarveda Therapeutics, Inc., a privately held oncology biotherapeutics company. From September 2004 to February 2018, he was a Professor at Harvard Medical School and a director of the Center for Nanomedicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He has authored over 180 papers and is an inventor on over 200 issued or pending patents. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. He is also a recipient of the 2016 Ellis Island Medal of Honor; the 2014 Golden Door Award from the International Institute of New England, for his scientific, societal and economic contributions to America as an immigrant; The Worldview 100 by Scientific American in 2015, which recognized visionaries who shaped biotechnology around the world; the 2013 RUSNANOPRIZE, one of the largest international nanotechnology prizes, for his work on nanomaterial surface modification; and the 2012 Ernst & Young New England Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Dr. Farokhzad holds an MA and M.D. from Boston University and an MBA from MIT Sloan School of Management.

Dr. Collins is the Termeer Professor of Medical Engineering and Science in the Institute for Medical Engineering and Science as well as Professor of Biological Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is one of the founders of the field of synthetic biology, has been elected to all three national academies—the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine—and has received a number of awards recognizing his work, including the Dickson Prize in Medicine and the Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award. Dr. Collins has been a Rhodes Scholar, a MacArthur Fellow and a recipient of the NIH Pioneer Award. In addition to his role as a faculty member at MIT, Dr. Collins is a Core Faculty member of the Wyss Institute at Harvard and an Institute Member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. Dr. Collins is a co-founder of Synlogic, Sherlock Biosciences, Cellarity and Phare Bio, and serves on the SAB of multiple companies including Danaher and Shape Therapeutics. Dr. Collins has a PhD in Medical Engineering from the University of Oxford, and an AB in Physics from the College of the Holy Cross.

Mr. Mathers has served as a member of our board of directors since 2016. Mr. Mathers has served as a General Partner at New Enterprise Associates (NEA), a private venture capital firm focusing on technology and healthcare investments, since 2019, and prior to that served as partner at NEA from 2008 to 2019. Prior to joining NEA, Mr. Mathers served as Executive Vice President, Corporate Development and Venture at MedImmune and led its venture capital subsidiary, MedImmune Ventures. Mr. Mathers currently serves on the board of directors of Affinia Therapeutics, Akouos, Amplyx Pharmaceuticals, Inozyme Pharma, MBX Biosciences, Mirum Pharmaceuticals, ObsEva SA, Reneo Pharmaceuticals, Rhythm Pharmaceuticals, Synlogic, (formerly known as Mirna Therapeutics) and Trevi Therapeutics.

Mr. Mathers earned his B.S. in Chemistry from North Carolina State University.